Weekend 1: Pasar Seni and Feeka

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Last weekend, I had to go to Pasar Seni to get something done. Once I was done with my stuff, I went for a little walk at Chinatown. I thought of buying a new makeup bag but I couldn’t find anything that I fancy. So, I ended up having lunch instead. There are plenty of food for me to choose from, but I ended up in one of the “lorong” (alleyways) to find something to eat. I got a Hakka Minced Meat Noodles with a cup of iced Herbal Tea to cool me down. I can’t say that I like the noodles very much. It was much too salty for my taste. I think it was the minced pork. It is mostly my problem and not the cook. I just doesn’t like salty or sweet minced pork.

You might want to downgrade your expectation when you are eating in alleyways. Not about the quality of the food, but the environment and the surrounding. We are talking about people who talk and laugh out loud like nobody business, and huge rats that dashed around scarying girls (and guys).

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Once I was done with lunch, I started to feel a little peckish. After walking around for a few minutes, I noticed that a lot of people are lining up at a Tau Fu Fah shop. So, I bought some fresh Tau Fu Fah (tofu pudding) to be eaten on the spot. They have three different types of sugar – White, Brown and one that I have never tried before, Ginger Brown sugar. Honestly, I don’t understand why people don’t sell Tau Fu Fah in Europe. It would be such a great hit. It’s healthy but sweet enough that kids would like them. It can be eaten cold and hot. I can only imagine eating Tau Fu Fah with Ginger syrup during winter.  

  2017-01-21-04.35.24-1.jpg.jpeg

By 2pm, I started to feel sleepy so I met up with Leon and we went to Feeka together. The first time I heard of Feeka, I thought of how similar it was to the Swedish ‘fika’ which is a concept in Swedish culture that means “to have coffee and cake/pastries”. Turns out, the cafe was opened with the same concept.

2017-01-21-04.35.30-1.jpg.jpeg

Feeka is one of the more popular cafe in KL area, so it is always jammed packed with customers. However, the coffee was pretty average for me. I find that the beans used in Malaysia cafe tends to be a bit on the bitter side. I can drink it but I prefer smoother coffees like the one I had in Kavarna Misto. Their Japanese cheesecake was great though. It was so soft that it’s like eating cloud.

2017-01-21-04.35.27-1.jpg.jpeg

2017-01-21-04.35.31-1.jpg.jpeg

If we were in a colder/drier country, I’d have sat outside. Too bad I’m a Chinese born and bred in Malaysia. That means that I was raised on the motto, “Stay out of the sun”.

Leave a Reply

