Kluang, my hometown

2017-01-14-11.55.27-1.jpg.jpegI love my hometown and it has nothing to do with the fact that it is MY hometown. I love it because of how different it is compare to Kuala Lumpur. People in Kluang are more chill-lax, living expenses there does not make you want to kill yourself, and the food there is awesome. Sure, it’s a tad boring compare to the capital city, but after living in KL for the past 12 years, Kluang has become the place for me to escape from the city.

2017-01-19-08.22.48-1.jpg.jpeg

Just because the town itself has nothing much, doesn’t mean that you can’t go anywhere else. Kluang is a town situated in Johor and thus, going to Johor Bahru/Singapore for a day trip is the common thing to do. If you are crazy enough, you can just drive down for a cup of good coffee. I think it is quicker to drive down to Singapore from Kluang, then to drive up to Kuala Lumpur.

 

2017-01-14-11.55.28-1.jpg.jpeg

2017-01-14-11.55.24-1.jpg.jpeg

One of my favorite haunt is the original Kluang Rail Coffee. It is one of the place I’d remember from my childhood, and the place still look the same even though it has been 13-14 years since I last visit. For your information, I hate the idea of going to their franchise in KL. The feel just aren’t the same, nor does the taste of the buns. The original store used charcoal to toast their buns. I doubt the franchise store in One U can do that.

2017-01-14-11.55.25-1.jpg.jpeg

2017-01-14-11.59.15-1.jpg.jpeg

2017-01-14-11.59.14-1.jpg.jpeg

2017-01-14-11.59.17-1.jpg.jpegOf course, you can’t just eat their soft buns slathered generously with kaya and REAL butter. You must eat their famous nasi lemak, which they still served in small portion wrapped in banana leaves. Definitely a good idea if you are trying to control your food portion. However, I doubt you can stop with just one packet. This is what I’d consider a good breakfast in Kluang Railway Station : 1 pack of Nasi Lemak, 2 Eggs, 1 Roti Bakar (the buns), and 1 Kopi (Coffee).

dscf9889.jpg

When I was staying in campus, my British housemates freaked out when they saw me eating half boiled eggs as shown above. In their defense, I was a little annoyed when I was in Liverpool and they served me a half-boiled egg in an egg cup and it was about 3/4 boiled. I had to send the waiter back with instructions on how to make it Asian style.

So, the question is : For travelers that dropped by Malaysia, have you ever tried half-boiled eggs here?  What are your thoughts on eating them with a few drops of soy sauce and a dash of white pepper?

 

2 thoughts on “Kluang, my hometown

  1. Thanks for swinging by my blog! 🙂 I’ve never been to Malaysia, but I’m living in Japan now and they use raw eggs in many of their dishes… definitely freaked me out at first. I just kept thinking I was going to get salmonella and die haha! Your hometown seems sweet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

