A pedestrian life

So, wassssup?!

I am back in Kuala Lumpur. Life, as they say, moves on. What if I don’t want to move on? I still want to travel and since I came back, I have been looking at Kayak.com, trying to figure out where to go next. Should I go back to Melbourne where I don’t have to worry about the cost for accommodation? Or should I go to South Korea for some K-Pop Stars, kimchi and spicy rice cakes? Maybe Thailand for that snake meat I have been thinking about for years?

2017-01-12-09.42.58-2.jpg.jpeg
I wish I can just hop on a train and leave again

It is tough. In between looking for a job that pays well enough and preparing for another round of CLP, I’m not sure I’d be able to travel far for the next few months. I would have to set my sight shorter and maybe just explore what Malaysia has to offer.
I’m feeling rather jetlagged, I think. I’m not too sure about it. No, I’m not stuck in Europe time zone. I don’t know what time zone I’m in now. I just couldn’t get a full night sleep. I’d wake up after 5 hours of sleep and just wander about the house like an ever so noisy ghost. Lucky the rest of my family wakes up early or I’m bound for a scolding. Nowadays, I would wait for my mum to get up, give her the, “Can’t sleep” look, hear her grunt about me being an idiot, and then lie on the floor like a dead body while she gets ready for the day.

Since I got nothing to do, I had taken to joining my mum for her morning exercise at the local park.

wp-image-314600525jpg.jpeg
Can you spot her?

Once she was done, we would go to the morning market and I’d point to everything knowing full well that she’d either ignore me or say no. That is the only word she knows when it comes to me. Have you been to a non-touristy morning market? You should. The smell and sight of raw chicken and pork, the bustling life as the aunties gossip about their in-laws, and the food vendors that constantly attempts to get you to buy from their stalls could be fun from time to time.

wp-image-595708386jpg.jpeg

Personally, I prefer my chicken from the morning market, especially the black chicken. I also prefer “kampung” eggs over store bought ones. They taste so much better, I’m telling you. Don’t worry about the market smelling bad. Open air market does not smell THAT bad. The uncle walking next to you might smell worst.

wp-image-1435426280jpg.jpeg

I remember when I was a kid, I’d follow my grandma to the morning market. The highlight of my trip was watching the fish vendor gut the fish. I’d be standing at the same stall for a long time and watch as they expertly clean and discard the gills and innards. For someone who has no access to video games, that was all I got to do for entertainment.

wp-image-314600525jpg.jpeg

After making one round, we would either “tapao” (takeaway) some kueh or fried noodles, or we would sit down at one the stalls and order something hot to eat for breakfast. I was a bit upset that there was no blood cockles (known here as siham/seeham) in my bowl of curry noodles, but oh well. Life moves on.

Oh ya. Since I can’t leave Southeast Asia for a while, I’m thinking of blogging about the SEA, mainly about Malaysia. Just the food and scenery, nothing about politics.

2 thoughts on “A pedestrian life

Leave a Reply

