Europe, wait for me.

img_20140803_143802
Queen Victoria Market, Melbourne

So, I finally told my mum that I would be going to Europe for a month. The conversation went something like this :

 

Me : I have a very very bad news for you. Are you sure your heart is strong enough to withstand it?

Mum : What?!

Me : I don’t think you are ready for this yet. Let’s talk again in the future.

Mum : Don’t you dare! You better tell me right now.

Me : Well...(took a deep breathe and smile) I’m going to UK next month. Ok? Bye. (Ran back to my room)

Mum : …

Probably not the best way to tell your mother that you are going to the other side of the earth for an entire month. But hey! It works. I have to say, I am actually surprised that she is OK with it. I was expecting World War III to erupt in my household. Huh.

img_20150605_183110
London Standsted, UK.

Let’s see, I bought my ticket during Matta Fair last March. The plan was this : Study hard, pass CLP (Malaysian Bar Exam) and then tell my mum it is a congratulatory presents I bought for myself. Turns out,  I failed, and the trip is now a self-consolation present.

img_20150912_191241
Eiffel Tower, Paris

Since I bought my ticket more than 8 months in advance, I had plenty of time to save up for my trip. Or so I thought. By August, I was about to give up. I didn’t want to ask for the money from my mum. I figure that since it was only RM2550, I can always burn the ticket (Ouch!) and try saving again for next year. However, I got a job few weeks into September and within 2 months, I was able to hit the budget. I do have to borrow a little from my family since I forgot to include the miscellaneous expenses such as the money for travel insurance and new shoes (the current one is about to fall apart), but all in all, everything is fine now.

img_20150511_212231
Hatfield, behind the University of Hertfordshire

This morning, my mum asked me, “When would you be back?”. When I said, “One month later,” this is her reply.

Mum : Your friend is going there for her honeymoon. I don’t understand why you would want to be their spotlight.

Savage, mum. Savage. I know I don’t have a boyfriend to honeymoon with, but I could get a boyfriend there within a month. Maybe. Probably. Well, there is at least 1% chance that I could get a boyfriend.


On a side note : 

img_20140821_224611
Heli Lounge Bar, Kuala Lumpur.

It would be great if I could meet up with some travel bloggers. Let me know if you’d be in London next weekend. 😉

Leave a Reply

